Beginning January 1, 2013

Stop by the new site and take a look around.

Friday, November 30, 2012

November Book of the Month Poll Winner ~ The Bridegroom Wore Plaid by Grace Burrowes



The Bridegroom Wore Plaid by Grace Burrowes
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Genre: Historical - Victorian Age
Length: Full Length (371 pages)
Heat Level: Spicy
Rating: 5 stars
Reviewed by Camellia



His Family or His Heart — One of Them Will Be Betrayed...

Ian MacGregor is wooing a woman who's wrong for him in every way. As the new Earl of Balfour, though, he must marry an English heiress to repair the family fortunes.

But in his intended's penniless chaperone, Augusta, Ian is finding everything he's ever wanted in a wife.


READ THE FULL REVIEW HERE

The Love Gypsy by Mariah Lynne



The Love Gypsy by Mariah Lynne
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press Inc
Genre: Contemporary, Historical, Sci-Fi/Fantasy
Length: Short Story (73 pgs)
Heat Level: Sensual
Rating: 3.5 stars
Reviewed by Fern

Florida homicide detective Brianna Breeze can't seem to catch a man unless she handcuffs him. So her best friend decides to take matters into her own hands and tricks Brianna into seeing the Love Gypsy, a time traveler's friend noted for her extraordinary matchmaking skills.

When a tall, muscular man wearing jeans, a black leather jacket, and slicked-back 50s hair bursts in on her first visit, Brianna is bewitched. Despite the gypsy's warning not to get involved with him, Brianna can't get him out of her mind—even though she, more than anyone, knows the pitfalls of romancing a stranger.

A present-day murder, a mysterious vintage car registered in the distant past, and a smoking gun complicate the puzzle. Brianna doesn't know if her lover from the past is a murderer or a savior, but she's willing to risk time travel to find out.


Brianna Breeze lets her best friend Tessa Stone talk her into spending a day off together cruising the mall. What Bree didn’t know was that Tessa is determined to get her to see the Love Gypsy. While she's consulting – albeit somewhat reluctantly – with the Love Gypsy, Dom crashes onto the scene (almost literally) and completely takes Bree by surprise. Their attraction is instant, but as open and fun-loving as Dom is, he’s surrounded by mystery, a combination that Bree, as a police officer, finds irresistible. Despite the Gypsy cautioning her to try other men on her list, Bree follows her gut instinct and spends more and more time with Dom.

More than a little over the top this book is happy and fun. Not taking itself seriously much of the time I found the tone campy and lighthearted. I laughed out loud quite a bit at the antics of Bree, Tessa and Dom. The pace of the book is quick, with a glowing, feel-good warmth that leaves you with a smile on your face.

While the mystery isn’t particularly complex, the plot is quite satisfying and the general tone of the whole story is really fun. At times I felt like the characters were a little rushed – the author sets a fast-moving pace with secondary characters coming in frequently and small plot hooks dropped consistently throughout the story. But overall this is a splendid, delightful romance that hits many of the good spots. It’s the perfect book to curl up with over a weekend or one night in front of a warm fire with a sparkling glass of wine.





Thursday, November 29, 2012

White Trash Beautiful by Nichole Severn



White Trash Beautiful by Nichole Severn
Publisher: Evernight Publishing
Genre: Contemporary, Suspense/Mystery
Length: Short Story (85 pages)
Heat Level: Sensual
Rating: 3.5 stars
Reviewed by Orchid

Trey Aston is hiding from the mob.

Desperate to save her life, she sells her body in order to make the monthly payments her father owes the mob, but when Trey discovers he hasn’t been making the payments, she’s forced to turn to the one man she hoped never to see again for help.

Deputy Luke Johnson refuses to acknowledge his high school sweetheart is a prostitute and is determined to make Trey see it for herself. Until she starts treating him as a client. His ability to know right from wrong is challenged and he isn’t the only one who’s noticed. The force doesn’t have his back where Trey is concerned, leaving him to fight against them for a criminal.

The Camino Family is out to make her pay, but what really has Trey on edge is the fact she has fallen for the deputy who wants her behind bars.


Trey returns to Parkvista, not to take up her relationship with the man who loves her but to sell her body for profit. Luke is confused. The woman he loved would never have become a whore, but then that woman would not have left town immediately after he proposed.

With reasons linked to her drunken father and his debts, Trey tries hard to prevent Luke finding out why she lives as she does. As a police officer, he can't protect her completely. Whenever he can he gives her food and once he even takes her to the home they shared and allows her to use the shower. Trey keeps her address in the bowels of a junk yard secret from the man she loves. Ashamed of the profession she has taken up, but seeing no other way of surviving, she knows her time with Luke must remain in the past, but it's so hard when she sees him almost daily.

Despite the obvious love between the main characters, I found the book confusing and a little disjointed. I realize the author did not wish to reveal everything at the beginning, but I fear she hid the reasons behind Trey's actions too well for me to grasp the full impact of the story. From the middle onwards the path became smoother and I understood why the unexplained actions happened at the beginning of the book. My comments are no reflection on the subject of the story, I thought this a quite novel way of approaching a romance. The attraction between the two was intense, despite the fact this is only a sensual level romance, the author brought the tension into the story well.

If the book had as much smoothness and depth at the beginning as it did at the end, it would be an excellent read.





Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Rancher's Son by Leigh Duncan



Rancher's Son by Leigh Duncan
Publisher: Harlequin
Genre: Contemporary
Length: Full Length (218 pgs)
Heat Level: Sensual
Rating: 4 stars
Reviewed by Poppy

Sarah Magarity just broke the first rule of social work: don't get personally involved. But how can she ignore the orphaned tyke who shows up in her office on Christmas Eve? The chance to make a difference is awfully tempting.So's the rancher with the sexy smile who might be the boy's father. Still, Sarah has to be nuts to let Ty Parker sweet-talk her into a cattle drive across rugged Florida wilderness.

Ty can't believe he might have a son to carry on his legacy. Still, until the DNA results come back, he isn't making any plans. But a strange thing happens on the open road. Amid rattlesnake scares and cozy campfires, he's growing closer to the boy…and to Sarah, the fiery redhead Ty can't keep out of his arms. They could be a happy family, unless the truth tears them apart….


I can’t blame the heroine of this story for losing her heart to little Jimmy, because I did, too and right off the bat.

Sarah is a social worker who’s left with an orphaned boy on Christmas Eve. The father is potentially a man she knows, Ty Parker, but there’s no real proof. Ty is understandably shocked that he might be the father to the boy and asks for DNA tests. While they wait for those to come through, either little Jimmy has to go to the group home or stay with his “dad”…who happens to be about to leave on a cattle drive.

Of course we know what the choice is going to be, and that Sarah is required to go along with them. It’s a wonderful time for everyone to get to know each other, away from phones, computers and other distractions.

Ms. Duncan scores again with this heartwarming story. I sped through it, gobbling each chapter up in big gulps, completely engrossed in the story. The characters are all three-dimensional and completely believable, each with their own unique set of quirks and traits.

While I do admit finding it a little surprising that a seasoned social worker would take the word of clearly troubled boys over a respected rancher, thus creating the conflict for our couple (at least at the start), it didn’t ruin the story for me. I understand, I suppose, why it had to be that way and why our heroine had to start out by feeling dubious about Ty. If she hadn’t, everything else would have been too easy.

Jimmy might have been a bit too well-behaved, and I might have disagreed with some parenting choices that were made (particularly about how he was allowed to eat), but again, this wasn’t a deal breaker. Not when the rest of the story, and the secondary characters were so delightful (particularly Doris).

Why not take a trip on a cattle drive and get to know this group of folks? It’s a sweet, touching and very romantic story with an unexpected and lovely ending.



The Girl Nobody Wanted by Lynn Raye Harris



The Girl Nobody Wanted by Lynn Raye Harris
Publisher: Harlequin
Genre: Contemporary
Length: Full Length (186 pgs)
Heat Level: Sensual
Rating: 5 stars
Reviewed by Peppermint

stop the press: Jilted Bride Stranded with a Notorious Playboy!

Anna Constantinides, publicly humiliated when her long-time fiancee announced his engagement to someone else, might have thought things couldn't get any worse.... Until her private jet crash-landed on an uninhabited island, leaving her stranded with billionaire hotel magnate Leo Jackson. Renowned playboy Leo's reputation is legendary, and if the smoldering looks they were fighting to contain when rescued are anything to go by, there can only be one question on everybody's lips: just how long did it take wickedly sexy Leo to undress buttoned-up heiress Anna?


It has been a while since I read a book that kept me up all throughout the hours of the night the way this one did. I just keep telling myself one more page, and I could not put it down.

Anna Constantinides is a sweet woman who thought she did everything perfectly to fulfill her destiny of becoming queen. Yet her fiancé still choose another woman to claim as his bride. With such a high profile relationship of course the breakup was just as high profile. So not only did she have to deal with a broken heart, but the scandal and constant media attention. My heart truly went out to her and it reminded me of what celebrities really go through. I could not imagine my personal life being anything but personal and private. It made me hope that she could get a brief moment of reprieve even if she found it on a island stranded with a hot stranger.

Leo has also lived his life in the media's eye but he compensates with it differently. While Anna just hopes it will all disappear Leo seems to just ignore it and sometimes even play it up for amusement. This attitude is what made me realize immediately he was just what Anna needed to learn to let her hair down and just enjoy life. Whether it be for a few hours or the rest of her life.

The relationship development within this story is that slow burn you expect from traditional romance novels. At times I really appreciated the build-up of emotions, other times I just wished they would stop dancing around one another and put everything out on the table. This roller coaster of emotions really helped to keep me enthralled in the storyline. I'm not usually a fan of traditional romance but this story made me re-think my view on my mother's old romance novels she cherishes. This is a story I can see any woman enjoying regardless of age, and that is why I would have no problem recommending it.



Tuesday, November 27, 2012

R.A.V.E.N by Rebecca Cline



R.A.V.E.N by Rebecca Cline
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press Inc.
Genre: Action/Adventure, Paranormal, Contemporary
Length: Full Length (400 pgs)
Heat Level: spicy
Rating: 4 Stars
Reviewed by Fern

Kachina Raven is a Reconnaissance Agent for the Vampire Eradication Network.

One night while escaping a murderous cult of vampire wannabes, she meets Kael. There is an immediate attraction but she knows there is something odd about him. He has some very unusual skills and abilities. She’s sure he isn’t a vampire but knows he’s no ordinary human either.

She knows she’ll always be stalked by vampires and doesn’t want to put anyone else at risk by having a relationship with them. Her life is further complicated by the relentless pursuit of a homeland security agent.

Kael is an alpha male used being the protector but Raven makes it clear she can fight her own battles. He’s frustrated by her refusal to acknowledge the strength of the attraction between them and is determined to have her as his mate.


After wrapping her motorcycle around a tree, Raven seeks the safety of a large biker pub to escape the vampire cult goons chasing after her. Drawing many of the customers' attention, it’s Kael whose gaze she senses most sharply. The attraction between them is electric, instant and undeniable. When a number of the cult members – and their vampire leader – track her to the pub, the situation becomes dire. Kael and Raven escape together, and start down a long and winding path neither could have forseen.

This is a quick-moving, action packed vampire and werewolf book. The characters are gritty and modern, tough but still quite easily relatable to. I thoroughly enjoyed both the dense plot and the multi-layered, complex characters. Raven is a seriously kick-ass vampire hunter with slick moves and five years experience under her belt. Although mostly human and fallible, she is not some lame, half-baked wanna be.

Matching her perfectly, Kael is an alpha werewolf, with keen senses and more than a few tricks up his sleeve. While always clearly explained and understandable, I got a little frustrated with Raven and Kael not trusting each other. Instead of using any and all resources – including each other – I found it strange they’d run from one another despite the attraction neither denies. Despite this and a few other small niggles I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Especially as the first in a series it started on a high note – the plot is convoluted and engrossing, the characters are strongly written and practically jump from the page.

There is a bit of back-story to catch up with and sometimes took me a moment or two to follow along with what was going on, but those times were easily overshadowed by the action and characterization. Overall I’d certainly recommend this book to paranormal readers, especially ones that like a bit of spice and plenty of heat in their romance. There are a number of other well-written, strong secondary characters from both the Vampire Eradication Network and I’d certainly expect more follow up books in this series.





One Good Earl Deserves a Lover by Sarah MacLean



One Good Earl Deserves a Lover by Sarah MacLean
Publisher: Avon
Genre: Historical
Length: Full Length (262 pages)
Heat Level: Spicy
Rating: 4.5 stars
Reviewed by Camellia

Lady Philippa Marbury is odd. The bespectacled, brilliant fourth daughter of the Marquess of Needham and Dolby cares more for books than balls, flora than fashion and science than the season. Nearly engaged to Lord Castleton, Pippa wants to explore the scandalous parts of London she's never seen before marriage. And she knows just who to ask: the tall, charming, quick-witted bookkeeper of The Fallen Angel, London's most notorious and coveted gaming hell, known only as Cross.

Like any good scientist, Pippa's done her research and Cross's reputation makes him perfect for her scheme. She wants science without emotion - the experience of ruination without the repercussions of ruination. And who better to provide her with the experience than this legendary man? But when this odd, unexpected female propositions Cross, it's more than tempting . . . and it will take everything he has to resist following his instincts - and giving the lady precisely what she wants.


Humor, subtle and sophisticated, skitters through the story as the characters entice the reader into an awesome vicarious experience with a heroine that has moxie and the ‘know-how’ to save the hero while he is trying to save her.

The odd, bespectacled Lady Philippa, Pippa, needs facts and needs them NOW. In fourteen days she’s to marry and she has no facts about procreation which will be one of her most important duties. She is a person of science, intelligent, quick-witted, practical, and never been kissed.

She’s deduced from tea party gossip that the act necessary for procreation brings “ruination” for an unmarried lady but is acceptable and even a ‘duty’ after marriage. She also deduced from gossip that the foremost expert in the act of “ruination” is Mr. Cross of the Fallen Angel, the most prestigious gambling hell in London. She needs him for her research ‘assistant’.

Cross aka Jasper Arlesey, Earl Harlow is horrified to find an unescorted lady, even if she is an odd lady, in his den of iniquity where sin and darkness abide. Her scent of sunshine and fresh linen in his cluttered office sets him on edge and her request has him flummoxed; plus his body roars to end six years of celibacy.

He is fascinated with the odd Pippa. Her intelligence and her factual, rather than emotional, approach to life set her apart from women he knows. The harder he works to expel her from his world, the more she becomes entangled in it. What a hash he makes of things in his determination to save her from ruin!

What she does in return brings a climax to the story that sends the heart rate sky high and the blood pressure spirally up, up, up.

Sarah MacLean mixes the flaws and foibles of London Society with scientific facts of the time and seasons the mix with love scenes that override the unsavory to create a feast of fantastic reading. She creates a villain that is a cunning, conniving adversary that ups the ante to fever pitch. Just when it looks like he has the winning hands an absolutely amazing thing happens and true pandemonium breaks out; Ms. Maclean has the reader right in the middle of the frenzy and fray..

The remarkable secondary characters help keep the story racing along to a wedding that brings its on super surprise. All the little extras of human and animal nature that Ms. MacLean slips in make for rich, emotional reading with "wowing" love scenes being the icing on it all.

One Good Earl Deserves a Lover is beautifully written and keeps the reader’s senses and emotions captivated.



Monday, November 26, 2012

A Night of No Return by Sarah Morgan



A Night of No Return by Sarah Morgan
Publisher: Harlequin
Genre: Contemporary
Length: Full length (187 pgs)
Heat Level: Spicy
Rating: 5 stars
Reviewed by Xeranthemum


Money, charm and sensual skills don't make up for a heart colder than ice…

Wild parties, wanton women, relentless work—nothing helps tycoon Lucas Jackson escape his dark and haunting past. Arriving at his rural castle in a snarling snowstorm, he craves only complete isolation.… But it seems oblivion can take an unexpected and highly intoxicating form!

Personally delivering the vital file left on her boss's desk, secretary Emma Gray starts to seriously regret her dutiful overtime mission. She never expected the dark side of the usually controlled Lucas could generate such a primitive, powerful—and entirely inappropriate—reaction.


How do you heal a man who is in so much emotional pain that he deals with it by getting drunk as a skunk on the anniversary date of the tragic event? How does a woman get beyond the fortress that surrounds that man’s heart and reteach him how to live and love again? With a little help from his friends, even ones he didn’t realize he had.

It’s a believable pain that Lucas, the hero, suffers and once I found out what it was, it was very sad. The sniffles came towards the last half of the book when one of his best friends hatches a plan that, although risky, produced feelings of tentative hope and happy tears because of the participants in that scene. I wouldn’t put it past readers to melt into a pile of goo when it comes to the toast part.

One of the participants of the drama is Emma, the intrepid heroine. I say intrepid because she has such a strong sense of duty, she ends up personifying the Mailman’s Creed, “Neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of night stays these couriers from being as dedicated as the mailman…”. Truthfully, Emma ends up taking things a bit farther than expected and the results are scorching. Then they become the elephant in the room. How she navigates these passionate feelings for her boss is one of the more entertaining and fascinating elements of this story.

Of course, a tycoon and a savvy and powerful businessman has to have a wary and cynical view of the world. Women don’t want Lucas for his brains and art but what lines his pockets. There’s the requisite troublesome female but what I liked about Emma is her ability to see through their shenanigans. The author side-stepped that clichĂ© quite thoroughly by making the heroine smart, capable and pretty much a type A personality – gold-digging she-cats don’t stand a chance against her. Nor does, Lucas. When Emma is guided by secondary character Avery Scott in how to dress, it was awesome. Why? Because a reader gets to see Lucas, a very self-contained man, come unglued. He starts acting very unlike himself and it was adorably entertaining.

This book also refers to the Ferrara family and it was a treat for me because I’ve been able to read quite a few of their romances. I adore world-building like this because when an author does include previous heroes and heroines from past books to help the present protagonists, it gives me the warm and fuzzies. Probably because they were awesome books in and of themselves and Ms. Morgan knows her characters so well, a reader gets little reminders of why they appealed in the first place. They have ‘presence” and Lucas fits in perfectly.

A Night of No Return romances a reader’s emotions with a wonderful and touching story spiced with the special kind of loving Ms. Morgan writes so well. It’s a book about people. She once again explores what makes us human, and our ability to be healed by the love of our friends and that one special person that cares for us deeply despite and in spite of all our faults. If a reader is looking for a “feel good” book, then this one satisfies.





Deliver Me From Temptation by Tes Hilaire



Deliver Me From Temptation by Tes Hilaire
Genre: Action/Adventure, Contemporary, Paranormal, Suspense/Mystery
Length: Full Length (346 pgs)
Heat Level: Sensual
Rating: 4.5 stars
Reviewed by Peppermint

Logan Screwed Up...Big Time

When things go bump in the night, Logan bumps back. Vampires, demons, succubi—you name it, he's fought it. His job as Paladin angel warrior is to protect humans. Not fall for one.

She Never Believed in Divine Intervention...Until Now

Detective Jessica Waters protects humans too-with her Glock and a good set of handcuffs. She doesn't believe in fate. But if anyone looks like a gift from the gods, it's Logan. And he clearly knows more about her case than he's letting on...


Detective Jessica Waters should have never been in that dark alley that night in the first place. She knew better than to not bring backup, but had she not been there, she would have never had the chance to meet Logan and remember what real emotions feel like.

Logan and Jessica both seem to be missing a piece of themselves. Jessica clearly has some commitment issues and emotional blocks that make her a great cop but also make it hard for her to develop relationships. Logan’s largest issue is that he has the weight of the world on his shoulders and wants to save everyone. These qualities really made me root for the characters because I can see that they both truly needed one another even if they did not realize it.

One thing about Jessica’s character that somewhat puzzled me was that she was so headstrong she seems to lead herself into trouble. It made me question how she ever survived before Logan showed up. While I appreciated this characteristic about her because I can relate to it, I sometime wished she would use just a bit more common sense or self-preservation.

The plot was amazing. I loved the way the author blended religious beliefs, mythology, and fiction to create a wonderful story. I also liked that Logan and his follow warriors are not what you would typically think of as angels or God's warriors. While they may be angelic, their humanity and decision making plays a large role in who they are, and the way they handle certain situations. It truly made for an interested read and kept the pages turning. I will certainly look for more stories in this series in the future as well as recommend it to others.





Friday, November 23, 2012

The Lass Wore Black by Karen Ranney



The Lass Wore Black by Karen Ranney
Publisher: Avon
Genre: Historical
Length: Full Length (278 pages)
Heat Level: Sensual
Rating: 3.5 stars
Reviewed by Camellia

Catriona Cameron was once famed for her seductive beauty and charm. Now she saw no one, hiding from the world...and no one dared break through her self-imposed exile.

No one, that is, until Mark Thorburn burst into her home, and Catriona's darkened world began to have color again. Thorburn, secretly the heir to an Earldom, claimed he was a footman. But Catriona didn't care about the scandal their passion could cause...for this very touch sparked her back to a life of sensuality, one she thought she'd never have again.

Little does she know that Mark is part of masquerade. One that will end when they become the target of a madman set on revenge. Mark realizes he will have to do more than win her love...he will have to save her life as well.


A happy childhood wrecked and then a determination to survive brings “the murderer’s girls”, Catriona Cameron and her sister, to quite different stations in life. The sister becomes an earl’s wife while Catriona becomes promiscuous, haughty, willful, and inconsiderate of others. She trades on her beauty to get what she wants. If ever there was anyone ‘looking for love in all the wrong places’ it is Catriona. The horrific deaths of her mother and then her father leave her with an emptiness inside that sends her spiraling out of control—then the wreck—her beauty is gone.

The need for redemption is so often associated with the hero, but in The Lass Wore Black the heroine is the one in need. She is so self-absorbed and overwhelmed with her misfortune that she has become a hermit and is wasting away. Her lack of consideration of others is appalling, yet Dina MacTavish, Catriona’s brother-in-law’s aunt, truly cares about Catriona and seeks help from a doctor friend.

Dr. Mark Thoburn, flying in the face of his father’s wishes, follows his calling and becomes a doctor and even spends much of his time in Old Town tended the destitute as well as tending his rich clients. When his friend Dina MacTavish asks for his help, his well-scheduled and orderly life is thrown off kilter and his ‘best laid plans’ do go astray. He seems a direct opposite of Catriona, yet they are drawn to each other. Their interaction makes entertaining reading as they both learn more about themselves than they are comfortable knowing. The maturing pains are sometimes humorous and other times heart-wrenching.

Aunt Dina MacTavish and Sarah Donnelly, Mark’s housekeeper and so much more, are remarkable secondary characters that give the reader a glimpse of goodness that is sincere and loving. Other secondary characters that reach out and touch the heart are Edeen and her two children that make a home the best they can in the dark, deeps vaults of Old Town where poverty and degradation abound. They along with Aunt Dina help work the miracle of Catriona’s redemption.

Karen Ranney writes such graphic descriptions of the misery and horrors in Old Town the reader can almost feel, smell, taste, and hear the hopelessness and dehumanization of the squalor. Also, her development of the antagonist’s personality makes one shudder at the way his mind functions. Even though I had trouble empathizing with the heroine, I admire the compelling writing style of Ms. Ranney that evokes strong feelings. How she weaves together a story of such diverse characters to get to a happy-ever-after for the hero and heroine intrigues.



Thursday, November 22, 2012

The Ghost and the Graveyard by Genevieve Jack



The Ghost and the Graveyard by Genevieve Jack
Publisher: Carpe Luna, Ltd.
Genre: Contemporary, Paranormal
Length:  Full (294 pgs)
Heat Level:  Spicy
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Review by Poppy

Left destitute by an unscrupulous ex-boyfriend, Grateful Knight takes her father up on his offer to live rent-free in a house he hasn't been able to sell. Desperate to make a new start, Grateful tries to overlook the property’s less desirable features, like the graveyard that stretches to her back door. On the bright side, the unbelievably gorgeous cemetery caretaker, Rick, is dead set on helping her feel at home. She vows to take things slow, considering her recent disastrous relationship, but is baffled when she literally can’t keep her hands off of him.

When things in Grateful’s house start moving on their own, another man enters her life—a sexy ghost with a dark secret. Magical forces are at work in the tiny town of Red Grove and they're converging on Grateful. Solving this ghostly mystery won’t be easy and with the caretaker becoming increasingly jealous of her spectral relationship, Grateful will be forced to choose between the ghost and the graveyard.

Ooh la la!  This is one sexy, fun book!

Grateful Knight is a hot, snarky nurse who discovers she lives in a haunted house (which abuts a graveyard, so makes sense, right?) and also finds she has a thing for the graveyard caretaker.  A huge, weird thing because when he's around she can not keep her hands off him (he's one smoking hot sexy guy, so who can blame her?).

Lest you believe that things on the romance front are cut and dried, however, I must mention that she also has the hots for one of her ghosts: Logan, who's equally hot and can cook a mean roast, to boot.  I admit, I fell for Logan right off the bat and I'm pulling for him to win Grateful's heart.

The Ghost and the Graveyard has everything I like in a paranormal romance:  plenty of heat, lots of surprises and things that go bump in the night.  It has its share of twists that I didn't expect, especially at the end, and Grateful was a really cool heroine -- smart, snarky and no pushover.

I wasn't thrilled at how the men acted like spoiled, pouty boys whenever they realized Grateful was undecided about which one she wanted to be with, and a few spots dragged a bit, but otherwise this book was spot on.  It's the start of what appears to be a promising, fun and sexy new paranormal series.  I thoroughly enjoyed it.





Fury of Seduction by Coreene Callahan



Fury of Seduction by Coreene Callahan
Publisher: Montlake Romance
Genre: Action/Adventure, Contemporary, Paranormal, Sci-Fi/Fantasy
Length: Full Length (422 pgs)
Heat Level: hot
Rating: 5 stars
Reviewed by Aloe

Successful landscape designer Tania Solares prides herself on living by her own terms, relying on no man to provide for her. But her carefully controlled life takes a turn for the extraordinary when her inquiry into the disappearance of her best friend thrusts her between two warring factions of dragon-shifters. Suddenly Tania’s survival depends on Mac, a newly initiated dragon-warrior who will break every rule to keep her safe.

Now that Tania knows the truth about Dragonkind, returning to her old life is too grave a risk. Ivar, leader of the Razorbacks, plots to decimate the human race, and Tania is just the tool he needs. Despite the danger, Mac cannot deny her a choice: Trade the independence she’s fought so hard to achieve for safety in a magical world, or turn her back on the man she’s grown to love in order to reclaim a freedom that might not last? It is an impossible choice. And yet a sacrifice must be made…


The Nightfuries and Razorbacks are back and neither side is any nicer than they were before. This time the Razorbacks want to capture a high energy female named Tania and use her for breeding and Ivan’s personal pleasure. However, there is one Nightfury who is determined to stop him from doing that and he has friends…

Ms. Callahan has a talent for writing stories with lots of action in them. The world she has created with dragon shapeshifters stays consistent and solid in the books of the series. All the dragons have different talents which makes the story even more interesting. Her romances keep your attention, too.

She makes her main character in this story, Tania, a strong young woman with an independent streak. She tends to stay away from men. That doesn’t work too well when she gets captured by dragons. There are a couple of women at their compound but the rest are all men…

The author weaves a tale of dark and light. The Razorbacks want to control the world. The Nightfuries protect women and fight the Razorbacks. Ms. Callahan makes the wars ugly and with painful cost, as I believe dragon battles would be. With how tough she makes all her characters, you can tell that she was a tomboy in her youth and played hockey with the boys. She doesn’t believe in wimps.

This is the third installment in this series and while each book can stand alone, I have enjoyed reading all the tales. Here’s your chance to see how Tania enters the dragonworld and how she adjusts. I have the feeling the next book will about her younger sister and which Nightfury chooses her, but I could be wrong. I will be watching for the next in the series to find out.