Beginning January 1, 2013

Stop by the new site and take a look around.

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

The Amoveo Legacy by Sara Taney Humphreys

The Amoveo Legacy by Sara Taney Humphreys
Publisher: Devine Destinies
Genre: Action/Adventure, Contemporary, Paranormal, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Suspense/Mystery
Length: Full (311 pages)
Heat: Spicy
Rating: Best Book
Reviewed by Queen Anne’s Lace

What if everything you knew turned out to be a lie? You find out that you aren’t even human—at least not entirely. What if, one day, you realize your world will never be the same again? These are the questions that Samantha Logan must face in The Amoveo Legacy. A dream on her thirtieth birthday compels her to leave her artists loft in New York City and move back to the beach with her Grandmother, Nonie. However, the instant Samantha steps foot on the salty shores of her childhood home, she realizes the landscape has changed.

The moment she encounters the mysterious, arrogant neighbor Malcolm Drew, her life is never the same. Through a seductive courtship, he introduces her to the magical mystical world of the Amoveo. The dream walking, telepathic, shape shifters that he claims are her true heritage. However, Malcolm holds back a secret that could destroy them both. Will he be able to protect Samantha and convince her of the secret legacy buried deep inside of her?

For fans of Christine Feehan’s Dark Series and Sherrilyn Kenyon’s novels, and of course I love both, The Amoveo Legacy does not disappoint. I originally wanted to read Ms. Humphreys novel because the blurb reminded me of these other beloved paranormal romances. I must admit that I feared the book wouldn’t live up to my expectations, but I was pleasantly surprised. Ms. Humphreys takes some already explored paranormal topics and puts her own original spin on the genre.

The story first introduces us to tall and handsome Malcolm Drew. He’s everything a woman could want: sensitive, mysterious, rich, and of course sexy-steamy hot. So why doesn’t he have every woman vying for his attention? Well, our seemingly perfect hero has a big secret. He is Amoveo and a member of the Eagle Clan. Telepathic abilities and power in the dream realm, among many others, constitute his gifts, but there is one huge drawback for Malcolm. He has only one mate, and if he is unable to find and be with her, he will lose all his powers, go mad and eventually die.

Then enters our heroine. The colorful and witty Samantha Logan. Great friend, talented artist, 30 years old and still unsure of what she wants to do with her life. A recurring dream inspires her to move in with her Grandmother, who happens to live next door to Malcolm Drew. But Samantha knows nothing of her Amoveo heritage. She is a hybrid, her mother human and her father a member of the Grey Wolf Clan, but she is unaware of these facts, including the detail that her new next door neighbor is Amoveo and her mate.

The Rhode Island beach house provides a lovely backdrop for the story. I love all the scenes on the coast and all the delicious imagery Ms. Humphreys incorporates in her tale. Who doesn’t enjoy a romp on the beach?

And, no good story develops without a diabolical villain. The Amoveo Legacy is no exception. The Caedo have been tracking the Amoveo for generations with one intent: to destroy all the Amoveo by any means possible. The fanatical nature and determination of the Caedo charges the novel like a jalapeƱo in a sandwich.

The Amoveo Legacy begins strong and keeps the reader until the end, delivering a satisfying conclusion. Don’t miss out on this wonderful story. A+++ job, Ms. Humphrey.


Sara Taney Humphreys said...

I am flattered and humbled by this review. Thank you very much. I'm thrilled you enjoyed it and I hope the LASR readers will give it a shot.

Kelly K said...

Great Book!! Easy reading! wonderful Story!! Original! Cant wait to read Book 2 !!